top of page

The Power of Makeup

So today I thought I'd talk about one of my favourite things- MAKEUP! I always wear makeup when I cosplay because I think It just absolutely makes the look. Obviously, there is nothing wrong with not wearing makeup but I just thought it would be cool to see the difference it can make to a cosplay. So I put this to the test and decided to cosplay Black Canary (a purposefully 'simple' cosplay ) with and without makeup.


Without:


With:



As you can probably see, there is a major difference :P The main differences are my skin looks much more even, my eyebrows are much more defined and my eyes pop more (rather than looking very very tired).


This is a very simple makeup look, which proves that you don't need to be a major makeup artist to use makeup to lift your cosplay to a new level. This makeup consists of a simple base, neutral eye look, defined eyebrows and of course my giant eyelashes :P


I just want to clarify that these photos have not been edited and were taken using the same lighting and camera. The only difference is that I have makeup on. I don't like to use the term 'catfish' but this definitely shows the power of makeup! You can barely tell that I'm actually a potato :P


Now I'm not saying that everyone should wear makeup or anything like that. In fact, I very very rarely wear makeup. I just wanted to demonstrate how much it can change your cosplay. Also makeup can have a huge impact on cosplay photography (and can really help the photographer out as it reduces the amount of editing for them to do) and looks great on stage (maybe you like to enter cosplay competitions).


Makeup is such a great tool to use in cosplay. To me, the makeup is just as important as the outfit, wig and props of a cosplay. Not only can makeup enhance your look, but the more you practise and get confident, the more creative you can be. This can end up being such a fun interest and a great way to cosplay on a budget. Here are some examples of my more creative looks:


I hope this has insired some of you to have a little play about with makeup and see what looks you can create or how much it can impact your cosplay.



Makeup used (for Black Canary):

- No7 pressed powder - £12.00


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page