top of page

The best night of my life!

Updated: Feb 12, 2020

So, on Friday night (at literally 23:30), I was asked by @Ugoandcosplay if I was able to get to London on the next Wednesday. He then mentioned that it was the Birds of Prey premiere (like I didn't already know :P). So anyway, I was asked if I'd like to attend the premiere cosplaying Black Canary (context- I had just posted a picture of my black canary cosplay on Instagram, saying how much I needed to take her out again!). Of course, I was absolutely shocked and over the moon! I quickly worked out the train route, rescheduled work and let my Cheer team know that I couldn't make it to practise (which was a bit unfortunate as a team member had injured her arm and so we needed to adapt the routine before comp- OOPs!). I'm not going to lie, I was shocked, excited, stressed and with all the sudden adrenaline, not tired at all! Which considering the time, was not ideal :P


I am quite a nervous traveller- especially trains! So I had got a bit worried about the travel but I was not going to let that stop me from this incredible opportunity. The night before the premiere, I planned my outfit, all my makeup was set out, bag packed, and let's face it, I checked everything about 50 million times before I went to bed!


I woke up at around 09:00 on Wednesday as I thought that would mean I had plenty of time to get ready and get a teeny bit of a lie in. Desperately trying to stay calm, I put on my SIX playlist and started getting ready. We set off extra early because I always prefer to be really early rather than late (in my head 10 minutes early is still late). Arrived at the station ONLY 1 hour before my train :P But anyway, that whole travel thing was absolutely fine and I don't know what I was worried about. Although, asking someone if they could move their stuff so I could sit down and then trying not to accidentally elbow them the whole journey was a bit awkward.


I got to Victoria Station and @cosplayitenglish , @6seasons_and_a_movie and

@pajama_boy_wonder came to find me, we got ready and then set off! We met up with everyone else and GUYS, they looked flipping AMAZING!!












We finally got wristbands and got called up to the YELLOW carpet! It was such an odd experience. There was a sniffer police doggo checking our bags (I was a little concerned as I had a ham sandwich in my bag but all was good :P ), then bag checks and then on to the carpet. Just thought I'd

mention that the first thing I did when I stepped on the yellow carpet was almost die. I tripped over a pole on the floor and nearly broke my ankle! It was such an odd experience- nothing like I would have imagined. Plastic sheets, poles and men carrying massive carpets everywhere.


We made our way to our little section, that was right near the Paparazzi. We waited for a while but it didn't even seem like waiting because we were having such a good time. There were so many news people and snazzy outfits. We even filmed a TikTok for ABC. The celebrities started arriving and we were all trying to guess who they were from afar. Even Keith Lemon was there!! My favourite moments were when Jurnee Smollett-Bell recognised my comic Black Canary cosplay and obviously meeting MARGOT ROBBIE!! I still cannot get over that.



Once everyone had been down the carpet, we weren't sure whether we would be seeing the film or not. When we found out that we were going to see it, the whole squad cheered (as cringey as it sounds).


Just as we were told that we were going to see the film ( :O ), I looked at the time and realised that I was definitely going to miss my train. I casually mentioned that to my boyfriend (who started to get a little stressed) and I was so chill! I was on cloud 9 and that was not going to stop me from having the best night ever. Charlie managed to book me a coach just before I went into the film anyway :D


We had to wait at the top of the theatre whilst the cast came to briefly talk about the film. The main thing that they said was - BADASS! we sat down (we got popcorn and a drink!) and watched the film (which by the way, was incredible).


The film finished and we were all like- WOW! Obviously we all had to part ways and each made our way home. I now had to get my coach at 11:50 and then try and stay away for over 2 hours. Finally got to my stop, picked up a Mcdonalds and went home! I finally got in bed at 03:30, and its safe to say, I didn't have issues sleeping.


I tried my best to explain how amazing the Birds of Prey Premiere was but it is hard to put it into words. I would definitely say it was one of the best nights of my life. Even if I hadn't seen the film or met any of the cast, the atmosphere and the people I was with, made my night anyway! If you ever get the opportunity to go to a premiere, I would highly recommend it. I had literally no expectations and it blew my mind. This blog post was not me showing off, I just really wanted to share my excitement with you guys. I sometimes struggle expressing how I feel when I get opportunities/ do anything fun because I want to show how thankful I am but I also wish everyone else could have experienced it too. I know that I am incredibly lucky to have gone to the premiere and to be one of the first people to see the film. I think you guys are going to love it!


I hope you enjoyed my rambling about my experience and the whole build up :P


Bye xx



Also check out Ugo's youtube video of the whole evening:


P.S. I am now a Shutter Stock image :P


*Cosplayers:

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page